July / August eNewsletter

2011 ADTSEA Conference News

David Strickland, Administrator of the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) addressed the ADTSEA participants at the Annual ADTSEA Conference in Honolulu, Hawaii on July 19, 2011. The Administrator pledged that NHTSA will continue to support driver education activities at the national level and that driver education is an integral component within a state's Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) Program. He stated that driver education is a fundamental building block in the driver licensing process and that driver education should be made available to all new drivers. ADTSEA would like to extend its appreciation to Mr. Strickland for attending the 2011 ADTSEA Conference.

2011 Richard Kaywood Memorial Award

Janice Meeker of Hawaii received the 2011 Richard Kaywood Memorial Award, sponsored by the American Automobile Association (AAA), in Honolulu, Hawaii. In 1985, and each year thereafter, at the annual ADTSEA conference the award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to traffic safety in memory of Dr. Richard Kaywood, who served the Association and traffic safety education for many years.

ADTSEA congratulates Janice Meeker for her outstanding accomplishments and contributions in traffic safety and driver education.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Joanne Swearingen, as a staff member of the Hawaii Department of Education, was responsible for driver education in the late 90's and early 2000. She established the CADRE, who's responsibility is to train new instructors, and worked closely with the Hawaii Department of Transportation to establish the State's driver education program being used today.

ADTSEA congratulates Joanne on being presented with the ADTSEA Lifetime Achievement Award.

2011 Teacher Excellence Award 

ADTSEA's Teacher Excellence Award (TEA) sponsored by the National Road Safety Foundation (NRSF), honors outstanding driver and traffic safety educators. Barbara Brody of Vermont and Bobby Duque of Hawaii received the 2011 TEA award in Honolulu, Hawaii. ADTSEA congratulates Barbara and Bobby for their outstanding achievements.





2011 ADTSEA Conference Presentations

Presentations made at the 2011 ADTSEA National Conference in Hawaii can be found here. ADTSEA would like to thank all of the presenters for their contributions.

Board of Directors

The 2011 elected officers were inducted at the ADTSEA Conference. You may see the full board here.


Upcoming Events

MI State Conf.
August 12th
Email Mary Kay Relich for details
8411 Meadowrock Dr
Rockford , MI 49341

VA State Conf.
9/30 - 10/1
Email Lisa McDaniels for details
1923 Windsor Rd
Petersburg , VA 23805

2011 VADETS Conference
9/30 - 10/1
Email Dick Tyson for details
Holiday Inn Select
601 Main St

Lynchburg , VA

WA State Conf.
10/7 - 10/8
Email Gerald Apple for details
1803 Capital Way
Olympia , WA 98501

NE Conference
10/28 - 10/29
Email Barbara Brody for details
Radisson Hotel
11 Tara Boulevard
Nashua, NH 03062

SC State Conf.
November 18th
Email Andrew Johnson for details
2402 Four Holes Rd
Orangeburg , SC 29115

July / August eNewsletter Sponsors

Thank you for supporting ADTSEA

This e-mail was sent to ADTSEA members.
Unsubscribe from this list.

Our mailing address is:
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, PA 15701
Our telephone:
1 (877) 485-7172

Copyright @ 2011 ADTSEA All rights Reserved.