In Honor of Dr. Francis Kenel

The American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association’s (ADTSEA) Teacher Excellence Award (TEA) sponsored by The National Road Safety Foundation (NRSF), honors outstanding driver and traffic safety educators.

The non-profit National Road Safety Foundation has been a strong supporter of driver education throughout its more than 57 years. NRSF produces and distributes, at no charge, educational films, teaching manuals and public service campaigns for use by professionals in driver education, traffic safety, public health and law enforcement.  More than a million copies of the Foundation's films and materials have been distributed nationwide. Based in New York City, NRSF was founded in 1962 by Fraydun Manocherian, who as a teen, lost two friends to a drunk driver.  For more information, visit or contact Michelle Anderson at 212-837-4854.

Candidates are nominated for outstanding teaching and service to driver and traffic safety education by an ADTSEA state-affiliate or regional director. Nominees must be a current ADTSEA member and active in their ADTSEA affiliated state or regional association for the past 3 years.  Each ADTSEA state-affiliate may nominate one person for the TEA.  ADTSEA members, from states not affiliated with ADTSEA, can be nominated by the regional director from the member’s region. All nominees should be high quality teachers who are committed to excellence and deliver high quality driver education programs.

All TEA candidates will be recognized during the conference. Applications will be reviewed by the TEA committee and those individuals who are determined to be TEA recipients will be recognized and honored by their peers and will receive a stipend and plaque from ADTSEA. In addition, TEA recipients will receive a special identification name badge to wear during the conference.

Each nominee must complete and submit the form, Nomination for Teacher Excellence Award, as well as a resume', Power Point program demonstrating your innovation in teaching, and written responses to questions.  Signatures by ADTSEA State or Regional affiliates officers are required.  Submissions may be mailed electronically to or postal mailed to Rich Hanson, 8116 SW Cedarcrest Street, Portland, OR 97223-1227.  All materials are due April 30, 2019 Teacher Excellence Award documents may be accessed here. Note - there is a “click here” to access some documents.

TEA award recipients are expected to present in one Secondary Division Session during the annual ADTSEA Conference by showcasing effective teaching strategies, skills development, and/or lesson ideas for classroom and/or in-car instruction that enhances the learner’s knowledge and/or skills in driver and traffic safety education, promotes national standards in traffic safety, and/or promotes traffic safety within the school and community.

We hope many people will promote the activity and help showcase great teachers. For additional information please feel free to contact Rich Hanson, facilitator, 503-502-8768,


To see the criteria and requirements for the award, and to fill out a nomination form, click here.

Past Recipients
1999 2010
Robin A. Bordner, MI Gay Ching, HI
Gerald Dickinson, TX
2000 Stanley Henderson, IN
Duane L. "Dewey" Mettler, MN Kevin Kirby, WI
William Powell, NC
2001 Fred Schreiber, MN
Chuck Filippini, WA Michael Shepard, WA
Charles Worrell, VT
Lindsay Townsend, VT 2011
Barbara Brody, VT
2003 Bobby Duque, HI
 Debbie Cottonware, WA
2004 Gerald Apple, WA
John Knippel, CA Kevin Masse, VT
Richard Salboro, HI
2005 Rachel Wilson, MI
Harold Lair, MT
2006 Christine Bergan, WI
Richard Hanson, OR Mark Hamilton, VT
Mark Lee, MN
2007 Carol Hoormann, MO
Greg Brown, MI Beatrice Kehr, MN
Joseph Christensen, MN John Viau, VT
John Duffy, VA
Gary L. Holobek, KY 2015
William Mayville, VT Greg Mangan, TN
Michael Pluta, VT
2008 Rod Hull, NH
Joe Barch, VT Carlos Stalcup, NC
David Barnum, MN
Donn Davidson, MI 2016
Gary Davis, NC Judy Weber - Jones, IL
Romona Maxim, TX Yusuf Quidwai, WA
Warren Hisashi Miyasaki, HI Becky Hardy, ND
William "Bill" Warner, OR
2009 Cynthia Bagley, HI
Larry Fosness, MN Jonathon Dondoneau, ND
Sammy Lee, HI Allyn Workman, MO
John Lynch, VT Larry Fairclo, OR
Charles Mason, NC
Kel Hirohata, HI 
Andrew Unsuth, MN
Susan Carney Lammerding, MT
Dale Ludwig, Minot, ND
Richard Ritter, VT