Beginning in 1985, and each year there after at the annual ADTSEA conference an award is presented to an individual for outstanding contributions to traffic safety in memory of Dr. Richard Kaywood, who served the Association and traffic safety education for many years. This award is sponsored cooperatively with AAA National Office, which presents the recipient an honorarium of $500.00.




Dick had a long and productive career, beginning with his work in safety education as an assistant professor of health and physical education at the University of California at Santa Barbara.  In 1955, he became the multi-school chairman of driver education in the Anaheim Union High School District.  In 1965, he became an associate professor of driver and traffic safety education at California State University at Long Beach.  He went on to become a full professor and coordinator of safety and driver education.  During his last three years, he also served as interim chairperson of the health science department.

He was a charter member of the California Driver Education Association, (later called the California Association for Safety Education), and an early member of ADTSEA.  In 1959, Dick became editor of the California association’s publication called the CALDEA Calendar.  In succeeding years, he developed it into a nationally recognized publication and in 1970 it became ADTSEA’s official journal called the Journal of Traffic Safety Education.

Throughout his life, Dick was a tireless worker and strong advocate for quality driver and traffic safety education programs.  Dick Kaywood’s life exemplifies the spirit of the words inscribed on the Richard Kaywood Award medallion:  Outstanding Contribution – Driver and Traffic Safety Education. 

The selection from among nominees is made by the ADTSEA Executive Committee and is announced at the annual conference banquet.




To better assure that deserving individuals are given consideration, ADTSEA members are encouraged to submit names of persons they feel made substantial contributions to the field.  Each submission must be accompanied by a summary of the candidate’s professional background and contributions to traffic safety education.  Following is a list of criteria for considering candidates.

Made a significant contribution to traffic safety education on the national and/or international level.

Must have served the traffic safety education profession for not less than 15 years.

Must have been an active member of ADTSEA for not less than 15 years.


The summary of the nominee’s contributions to the field of traffic safety education may include, but are not limited to the following:

Scholarship – Masters or Doctorate degree

Leadership – Served ADTSEA  in an elected or appointed position

Author or contributing author of a textbook(s) or Curriculum

Speaker/Presenter/Panel member at state/national conferences

Regional/local workshop leader/presenter



Authored research reports

Served on national committees or working groups


Nominations must be submitted to ADTSEA prior to December 31st of any given calendar year for the consideration in the following year, and addressed to:

American Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association
Highway Safety Services, LLC
1434 Trim Tree Road
Indiana, PA  15705

        Past Recipients
1985 Dr. William Cushman 1986 Dr. Norman Key 1987 Amos E. Neyhart
1988 Dr. Robert Marshall 1989 Dr. Richard W. Bishop 1990 Warren S. Hastings
1991 Dr. Francis C. Kenel 1992 Dr. James Aaron 1993 Arthur A. Opfer
1994 Carl Wenzinger 1995 "Doc" Whitworth 1996 Joe Intorre
1997 Warren Quensel 1998 Dr. John Palmer 1999 Dr. Gary Bloomfield
2000 Dick Tyson 2001 Dr. Bob Gustafson 2002 Fred Mottola
2003 Dr. Maury Dennis 2004 Dr. Terry Kline 2005 John Harvey
2006 Owen Crabb 2007 Dr. Allen Robinson 2008 "Micky" Johnson
2009 Barbara Brody 2010 Dr. Dale Ritzel 2011 Janice Meeker
2012 Randy Thiel 2013 Carol Hardin 2014 Lindsay Townsend
2015 Gary Guzouskas 2016 Chuck Lehning 2017 Frank J Gruber
2018 Connie Sessoms, Jr.